Editor and Contributors


Jude Ortega is the author of the short story collection Seekers of Spirits (University of the Philippines Press, 2018) and has been a fellow for fiction at two regional and four national writers workshops. In 2015, his stories received honorable mention at the inaugural F. Sionil José Young Writers Awards and at the Nick Joaquin Literary Awards. He is from Senator Ninoy Aquino, Sultan Kudarat.


Jade Mark B. Capiñanes earned his bachelor’s degree in English at Mindanao State University in General Santos City. He has been a fellow for essay at the 2016 Davao Writers Workshop and the 2017 University of Santo Tomas National Writers Workshop. His “A Portrait of a Young Man as a Banak” won third prize at the Essay Category of the 2017 Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature.

Gerald Galindez teaches at Notre Dame of Tacurong College in Tacurong City, Sultan Kudarat. His poem “San Gerardo and the Exocotidae” is the winner of the 2017 Cotabato Province Poetry Contest. His poetry zine I, Alone was featured in the 2017 SOX Zine Fest.

Kwesi M. Junsan is a licensed veterinarian from Koronadal City, South Cotabato. Aside from writing, reading, and regular musings, he is taking MA Media Studies (Film) at the University of the Philippines Diliman and Sertipiko sa Panitikan at Malikhaing Pagsulat sa Filipino at Polytechnic University of the Philippines.

Mariz J. Leona is an AB English student at Mindanao State University in General Santos City. Her essay “First Aid” is the winner of the 2017 Sultan Kudarat Essay Contest. She is from Lambayong, Sultan Kudarat.

Mubarak M. Tahir was born in the village of Kitango in Datu Piang, Maguindanao. He earned his Bachelor of Arts in Filipino Language (cum laude) at Mindanao State University in Marawi City. He lived in General Santos City when he taught in the campus there of his alma mater. His essay “Aden Bon Besen Uyag-uyag” won the third prize for Sanaysay at the 2017 Palanca Awards. Currently, he is teaching at the Davao campus of Philippine Science High School.